Spotlight on New Hotels

Disclosure: This article may contain affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, we will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

The Golden Tulip Award goes to The Ornithologist

istanbul film festival award2017 all

The 36th Istanbul Film Festival announced the winners of its competitions at an award ceremony held at Soho House İstanbul on Friday evening, 14 April. The 36th Istanbul Film Festival Award Ceremony saw presentations of awards in the scope of International and National Golden Tulip competitions, FACE Human Rights in Cinema, National Documentary and National Short Film competitions, as well as the Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize, FIPRESCI International, National,and National Short Film Awards.

This year the International Golden Tulip Competition Award, presented every year in memory of Şakir Eczacıbaşı, went to The Ornithologist, directed by João Pedro Rodrigues. The presentation of the monetary award went to Mario Tiago Paixao, Embassy of Portugal in Turkey’s Cultural Atachè. The International Golden Tulip Competition Special Jury Prize went to the film Summer 1993, directed by Carla Simón.

National Golden Tulip Competition Awards

12 films that were completed in the season of 2016-17 vied for the Golden Tulip in the National Competition of the festival. Among them, 10 films had their world premieres and one film had its first screening in Turkey at the festival.

The Golden Tulip for the Best Film in the National Competition went to Yellow Heat, directed by Fikret Reyhan.

Yeşim Ustaoğlu won the Golden Tulip for the Best Director for her film Clair Obscur.

The Special Jury Prize in memory of Onat Kutlar was given to the film Blue Silence directed by Bülent Öztürk.

Ecem Uzun won the Best Actress Award for her role in Clair Obscur.

Aytaç Uşun won the Best Actor Award for his role in Yellow Heat.

The Best Screenplay Award in the National Competition was given to Bülent Öztürk for the film Blue Silence.

Marton Miklauzic won the Best Director of Photography Award in the National Competition for the film Yellow Heat.

The Best Editing Award in the National Competition was given to Ömer Günüvar & Fikret Reyhan for their work in the film Yellow Heat.

The Best Original Music Award in the National Competition went to Antoni Komasa-Lazarkiewicz for the film Clair Obscur.

National Short Film Competition

Spearheaded with the objectives of encouraging short film making, supporting the development in this field, and bringing together the audience and outstanding short films, the National Short Film Competition was held for the second time this year.

Filiz Işık Bulut’s film Zelal won the Best Short Film Award. Pınar Yorgancıoğlu’s film Mrs. Nebile’s Wormhole won the Special Mention.

National Documentary Competition

This year, 9 films competed in the National Documentary Competition launched by the Istanbul Film Festival in order to support documentary film-makers and documentary film production in Turkey.

The Best Documentary Award was given to Mother Derdo and The Walnut Tree directed by Serdar Önal. Bluedirected by Mehmet Sertan Ünverwon the Special Mention.

Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize

Since 2013, the Istanbul Film Festival is honoring the respected producer and director Seyfi Teoman, whom we lost untimely at a young age, with a prize presented in his memory.

13 debut films produced in Turkey and screened in the festival’s “Turkish Cinema” section were nominated for the prize. Bülent Öztürk’s film Blue Silence was presented a monetary award of 30,000 TL via CMYLMZ Fikirsanat.

FACE Film Award of the Council of Europe

The Film Award of the Council of Europe (FACE) that is presented to a film in the Human Rights in Cinema Competition section exclusively at the Istanbul Film Festival, is now in its 11th year. The winner of FACE is presented a statuette and a monetary award of 10,000 Euros supported jointly by the European Council and Eurimages fund.

FACE Film Award of the Council of Europe was given to the film Félicité, directed by Alain Gomis. The film Blue Silence, directed by Bülent Öztürk won the Special Mention.

FIPRESCI International, National, and National Short Film Awards

In every edition of the festival, The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) presents three FIPRESCI Awards under the categories of International Competition, the National Competition, and the National Short Film Competition.

The winners of the FIPRESCI Awards were: In Between directed by Maysaloun Hamoud in the International Golden Tulip Competition, Something Useful directed by Pelin Esmer in the National Golden Tulip Competition, and Hinterland directed by Sinan Kesova in the National Short Film Competition.

increase ad earnings