aipc2011In terms of the Board of Directors, Iker Goikoetxea Mendoza, who is the Managing Director of the Kursaal Congress Centre in San Sebastian, Spain, replaces Marisa Marin as a Spanish representative. At the same time, Peter Gunn, who is the Chief Executive of the Bournemouth International Centre, has replaced previous UK Board member Jacquie Rogers.

Re-elected for subsequent terms were current Board member Carol Wallace, CEO of the San Diego Convention Center Corporation, Treasurer Jonas Scharf, Managing Director of Congress Centre Basel; Vice President Geoff Donaghy, representing Cairns Convention Centre in Australia and President Edgar Hirt of Congress Centre Hamburg. These elected members join current Board Member Clare Amsel, Director of Conferences of the Megaron Athens International Conference Centre who was re-elected in 2010.

In this same session, AIPC welcomed seven new centre members to the Association, again representing a broad global mix. The seven are:

· John B. Hynes Veterans Memorial Convention Center, Boston

· Atatürk Congress Culture Center, Bursa (Turkey)

· ICE Krakow Congress Centre

· Las Vegas Convention Center

· Los Angeles Convention Center

· Centro Banamex Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mexico City

· Sokolniki Exhibition and Convention Centre, Moscow

These new additions bring AIPC membership to a total of 170 members representing 54 countries worldwide.

"We are of course pleased that AIPC membership has continued to grow and diversify in a time when many organizations have felt the negative impacts associated with the global recession, but we have never pursued membership for its own sake", said AIPC President Edgar Hirt. "Our objective is to include centres who share our objective of excellence in convention centre management and who help us maintain a truly global perspective, and the latest additions to both our membership and our Board will help us achieve that".