Amin previously served as the Board's secretary-treasurer and is the owner of the BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn in Edinburg, Ind., the BEST WESTERN PLUS Gateway Inn & Suites in Evansville, Ind., and the BEST WESTERN Torchlite Motor Inn in Wheatlands, Wyo.

James Cosgrove, District VII Director (northeastern U.S. and eastern Canada) and a second-generation Best Western Member, was elected as vice-chairman to the Board of Directors. Cosgrove is the owner of the award-winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Revere Inn & Suites in Paradise, Pa.

The Board of Directors also elected District V Director (mid-southern U.S.) Jay Patel to the position of secretary-treasurer. Jay Patel has been with Best Western for more than 25 years and has developed five Best Western hotels in Louisiana.

Prior to these Board of Director appointments, District IV (southeastern U.S.) elected Dilipkumar (Danny) Patel as its Director.  Danny Patel, who has been a Best Western Member for 17 years, has served as chairman of the Board of Directors for the Asian American Hotel Owners Association ( and as a Best Western Governor and member of the Design Advisory Committee. He is the CEO of Peach State Hospitality, a Georgia-based hotel development and management company, which has developed 32 branded and independent hotels in Georgia and Alabama. Additionally, Danny Patel has served as director on the board of the Georgia Hotel & Lodging Association.

In the northwest U.S. and western Canada, District II members elected Beth Campbell to serve a second term as their Director. Campbell served as Board Chair in 2010, has chaired the brand's Marketing Advisory Committee, and served as a brand governor for 15 years.  In addition, Campbell she spent 15 years as mayor and city council member for the city of Penticton, BC.  For the past 30 years, Campbell has owned and operated that city's BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Penticton, a Three-Diamond resort-style property.