Complementing the impressive breadth of expertise of the existing Directors, Mr Boyes is an experienced hotelier, having worked with Accor Asia-Pacific since 1994.

Mr Boyes joins the Board of Directors as a Members Director, having received the most votes from BESydney’s Strategic Partner and Members.

Col Hughes, BESydney’s Chairman, says, “This year’s Members Director election saw seven high calibre nominees put forward. Scott is a well-respected member of the industry, who will bring unique insights and a strong state-wide vision to the board. Given his experience and understanding of the accommodation sector and our industry, Scott will be a valuable voice for our members.

“The diversity of industry and commercial knowledge that our directors possess is vital to the continued strength of BESydney’s board. We look forward to welcoming Scott and the fresh perspective he will bring to the table.”

Lyn Lewis-Smith, CEO of BESydney, comments, “On behalf of the global BESydney team we welcome Scott to BESydney’s Board of Directors. He was elected by his industry peers to be their representative. For this he should be proud. We look forward to benefiting from his input.

“The business event market globally and locally is changing. I’m proud to say that under the guidance of our highly-respected and connected Board of Directors, BESydney is tackling the future head on, and reaping the rewards. Whether that be in growing business from Asia, innovatively collaborating with Strategic Partners and Members, championing the ‘Sydney is open for business 2014-2016’ message, or challenging the status quo both internally and externally – we are proactively working to ensure the future of business events in Sydney and New South Wales (NSW) is positive and promising.”

Scott Boyes joins Gary Daly (General Manager Sales, Luna Park) and Kate Smith (Managing Director, WaldronSmith) as Members Directors. The BESydney Board comprises two Directors nominated by the NSW Government via Destination NSW, three Member Directors and four Independent Directors appointed by the Board.