“This role is a great honour and a privilege but it will also be a challenge in an unstable economic context. More than ever before, Convention bureaus, tourist boards and city marketing organizations have to join forces. The ECM strategy 2013-2016 will enable us to focus on new opportunity and work on break-through solutions to obtain growth. ECM will continue to provide essential research, and tools to bench-mark city performance and provide useful forums to exchange knowledge and best practice as well as new business opportunities.” says Ignacio de Delás, deputy General Manager of Turisme de Barcelona and ECM President.

The General Assembly also appointed Dieter Hardt-Stremayr (Graz) as Vice-President and renewed Denis Zanon as Treasurer. Heike Mahmoud remains Vice-President dedicated to the Meetings Industry.

The newly elected board members are as follows: Eduard Pieter Oud (Amsterdam), Pier Paolo Mariotti (Bolzano), Peter Rømer Hansen (Copenhagen), Bettina Bunge (Dresden), Erwin Van de Wiele (Ghent), Camilla Nyman (Gothenburg), Elif Balci Fisunoglu (Istanbul) and Goran Pavlovic (Opatija). François Gaillard (Lyon) and Philippe Vignon (Genève) continue their mandates as ECM board members.

ECM (European Cities Marketing) improves the competitiveness and performance of leading cities of Europe by providing a platform for convention, leisure and city marketing professionals to exchange knowledge, best practice and widen their network to build new business. European Cities Marketing is promoting and linking the interests of 110 members from more than 100 major cities in 32 countries.