President Didier Robert replaces Alain St.Ange, the Minister of Tourism and Culture of the Seychelles whose second mandate came to its end yesterday.

Minister Alain St.Ange was the first President of the Regional Organisation elected in Seychelles. His mandate was extended for a second term at the Ministerial Meeting of the Organisation held last year in Antananarivo in Madagascar.


At the Ministerial Session the islands of Comoros, La Reunion, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte and the Seychelles met under the chairmanship of Minister Alain St.Ange. Three candidates has submitted their nominations for the Presidency of the Organisation to succeed Minister Alain St.Ange. They were Minister Michael Sik Yuen, the Minister of Tourism and Leisure from Mauritius, President Didier Robert, the President of the Regional Council of La Reunion and Minister Benjamina Ramanantsao, the Minister of Tourism from Madagascar. After lengthy deliberations and in the spirit of the organisation's charter to move forward through consensus a unanimous decision was reached on a rotational presidency system.

President Didier Robert of La Reunion succeeds Minister Alain St.Ange making him the second President of the Indian Ocean Vanilla Islands. During the Festival Liberte Metisse of La Reunion in December 2014 President Didier Robert will pass the responsibilities on to Minister Benjamina Ramanantsao on Madagascar. Minister Michael Sik Yuen on Mauritius will take over the reigns of power as President of the vanilla islands in August 2015 during the Cultural & Gastronomic Festival of the Comoros. In May 2016 during the International Tourism Fair of Madagascar Comoros will assume the Presidency and in May 2017 again in the Tourism Fair of Madagascar it will be the turn of Mayotte to head the Indian Ocean Vanilla Islands Regional Organisation.

Alain St.Ange, the Seychelles Minister responsible for Tourism and Culture said as he passed the ceremonial Vanilla Islands Flag to President Didier Robert of La Reunion that the Region needs us to consolidate this new tourism region. Minister St.Ange assured President Didier Robert of his commitment and support to help ensure his Presidency is a success.

Picture shows: Representatives of Comoros, La Reunion, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte and the Seychelles poses together at the handing over of the ceremonial Vanilla Island Flag by Minister Alain St.Ange to President Didier Robert