New IAPCO President: Ori Lahav

Ori Lahav elected IAPCO President

Ori Lahav, Vice President Clients & Operations at Kenes Group was elected IAPCO President at the highest ever-rated IAPCO Annual General Assembly in Vancouver.

He takes over from outgoing President Mathias Posch for a two-year term. 

Ori Lahav commented, “It is a huge honour to lead an association of industry professionals and more so, to follow the footsteps of our Founder and President, Gideon Rivlin, who was President of the association 39 years ago. I am set to continue raising the standards of IAPCO together with the HQ team and the exemplary Council. No matter the hard times that we are currently facing with COVID-19 and other unrests around the world, I believe that this is the right opportunity for us to come together and prove the resilience of the events industry once more.” 



Martin Boyle, IAPCO CEO, commented, “I have had the privilege of working with Ori during the last year in his role as IAPCO Vice President and am certain that his international experience and network will be of great value to our association.” 

Dan Rivlin, CEO at Kenes Group added: “We are very proud of Ori and his achievements. I believe that his varied experience and viewpoint is how he enriches the world of events, contributing toward the further recognition of our profession. He has brought many innovations to life at Kenes and I expect him to do the same with IAPCO during his Presidency term.”



Key focus areas for the IAPCO Council during his term are: 

  • Launching webEDGE – the new IAPCO online learning platform 
  • A strong commitment to the IAPCO Quality mandate and an active industry outreach to communicate it 
  • Widening the Association’s reach in Latin America and APAC 

New Council 

Elections were held during the General Assembly and along with a new president, the Council welcomed one new elected member and four re-elected members. 

The new elected council member, Alejandro Tabche, Business Travel Consulting, Mexico and the four re-elected council members Barbara Calderwood, MCI UK; Monica Freire, AIM Group International, Keith Burton, African Agenda and Sarah Markey-Hamm, ICMS Pty Ltd create a truly global team. 

IAPCO Council 2020-2021 

President: Ori Lahav, Kenes Group, Israel  

Immediate Past President: Mathias Posch, ICS, Canada 

Treasurer: Keith Burton, African Agenda, South Africa 

Jan Tonkin, The Conference Company, New Zealand 

Alain Pittet, Ega worldwide congresses & events, Italy 

Barbara Calderwood, MCI, UK 

Monica Freire, AIM Group International, Portugal 

Sarah Markey-Hamm, ICMS Pty Ltd, Australia 

Nicolette van Erven, Congress by design, Netherlands 

Alejandro Ramirez Tabche, Business Travel Consulting, Mexico 

IAPCO is a membership-driven organisation, that strives to achieve global accreditation and acknowledgment of truly Professional Congress Organisers. The IAPCO mission is to raise the standards of service among its members and other sectors of the meetings industry by means of continuing education and interaction with other professionals.


Latest Appointment News

September 28, 2023

Viceroy Chicago Appoints New GM

Viceroy Hotels & Resorts announced the appointment of Patrick Lacassagne as Viceroy Chicago’s new General Manager.
Patrick Lacassagne
September 20, 2023

PATA's New CEO: Noor Ahmad Hamid

The Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) has officially announced the appointment of Mr. Noor Ahmad Hamid as its Chief Executive Officer, effective…
PATA's New CEO Noor Ahmad Hamid
Copyright © 2023 ftnNEWS - Focus on Travel News.