Spotlight on New Hotels

Donald Trump extended his travel ban to more countries

Donald Trump officialDonald Trump has announced new travel restrictions on visitors to the United States that will expand his controversial travel ban to eight countries. Now it includes people from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad.

The White House said the restrictions follow a review of information sharing by foreign governments.

The restrictions on Venezuelans apply only to government officials and their family members.

Trump's original travel ban included Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia. But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

“As president, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people,” Trump’s statement said. The president later tweeted: “Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.”

The new proclamation will come into effect on 18 October.

Most Popular in 2021

increase ad earnings