Spotlight on New Hotels

Malaysia Enters New Lockdown

Malaysia Enters New Lockdown

Malaysia declares a nearly month-long nationwide lockdown just ahead of this week's Eid al-Fitr holiday.

Malaysians will again stay home this holiday period instead of traveling to spend time with their families following the month-long Ramadan.

The new strict lockdown starts today, 12 May, and ends on 7 June.



Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin announced that Malaysia is facing a third wave of COVID-19 with daily new cases nearing 4,000 and with 37,396 active cases.

Educational institutions will be shut but economic sectors will be allowed to continue.



Social activities including dining out are banned and interstate travel is forbidden except for medical, work or other approved reasons. With Eid ul-Fitr, locally known as Hari Raya Puasa, falling on Thursday, house and grave visits associated with the festival are also banned.

Mosques with a normal capacity of 1,000 people will be allowed to hold special prayers on the day for up to 50 worshippers. A 20 person limit will be imposed on smaller venues.

The country border remains closed and only travelers with approval from relevant agencies are allowed to enter. On 12th January 2021, Malaysia’s King announced a State of Emergency nationwide from 12th January 2021 to 1st August 2021 to contain further spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Any individuals who violate COVID-19 Standard Operating Procedures (SoPs) can be fined up to RM10,000. Companies or corporations that violate the SOPs can be fined up to RM50,000.

As of February 2021, Malaysia has secured 66.7million vaccines covering 109.65% of its population. Vaccines are sourcing from 5 manufacturers: Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Sinovac, CanSinoBIO and Sputnik V.

The COVID-19 vaccination is voluntary and will be provided free of charge to all Malaysia citizens and non-citizens.

The age limit is 18 years and above (will be reviewed from time to time). Malaysian government aims to achieve at least 80% of Malaysia’s adult population receive vaccines by February 2022 to reduce infections, hospitalisations and death. The National COVID-19 Immunisation Programme will be implemented in 3 phases, starting from 24th February 2021:

  • First-Phase (500,000 people): Frontliners including personnel in public and private healthcare, essential services and defence services. Take place from February 2020 to April 2021.
  • Second-Phase (9.4 million people): The rest of the frontliners, elderly people aged 65 and above, high-risk groups with chronic diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, obesity, high blood pressure and people with disabilities. Take place from April until August 2021.
  • Third-Phase (Over 13.7 million people): Residents (citizens & non-citizens) aged 18 and above with priority given to the red zone, yellow zone, then green zone. Take place from May 2021 until February 2022.

Vaccination registration and appointments can be made via MySejahtera and official websites.


Latest Travel News

Travel and Tourism News

Copyright © 2023 ftnNEWS - Focus on Travel News.