Free 72-hour China transit visa

  • Published by Vedat
Foreign nationals from 45 countries and regions holding a third-country visa and onward airline ticketing may stay in Guangdong up to 72 hours without an entry visa to China.

Beijing-Hangzhou-CanalAfter the announcement made by the People’s Government of Guangdong Province, the Guangzhou General Station of Exit and Entry Frontier Inspection China Southern Airlines and the Guangdong Airport Authority, Guangzhou joined Beijing and Shanghai as 72-hour border visa-free cities.

Foreign nationals from 45 countries and regions holding valid passports as well as connecting passenger tickets with set travel dates, are now qualified to depart Baiyun International Airport Guangzhou without needing a Chinese visa and will have free and unfettered access throughout Guangzhou Province during the 72-hour transit period.

Currently, China Southern Airlines operates 44 international routes from its Guangzhou hub, with service to 37 countries and regions and more than 90 domestic flights. China Southern Airlines' Guangzhou hub has raised the number of transit passengers of all international routes, accounting for 50% of all passengers.

In 2012, China Southern Airlines carried 340,000 international arrivals in Guangzhou and in the first half of 2013, the sixth traffic rights passengers transported by China Southern Airlines at its Guangzhou hub has reached 210,000 arrivals, an increase of 41.5% year-on-year.

With the implementation of the 72-hour TWOV policy, the airline can expect transit passengers by China Southern flights will exceed 500,000 arrivals in Guangzhou.

The 45 countries are:

1.     24 countries in Europe: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

2.     7 additional European countries: Russia, Great Britain, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania and Ukraine.

3.     6 American countries: United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Chile.

4.     2 Oceanic countries: Australia and New Zealand and

5.     6 Asian countries: Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates and Qatar.

Most Read news in this category since January 1, 2017

Prev Next


Spend a Romantic Weekend in Tallinn, Estonia

Spend a Romantic Weekend in Tallinn, Estonia

Beginning of December 2016, me and my wife visited Tallinn, the capital of Estonia, and if you are searching for a romantic weekend, then you should consider Tallinn. The Estonian capital offers tra...

Best of Greek Islands with Celestyal Cruises

Best of Greek Islands with Celestyal Cruises

In Summer 2016, I had chance to sail to Greek Islands with the Celestyal Cruises. In an organization with Karavan Cruises, travelers enjoyed best of Greek islands with Celestyal and received a compl...

Unique and Luxurious Vacation Destination in Turkey: Cappadocia

Unique and Luxurious Vacation Destination in Turkey: Cappadocia

ftnNEWS would like to present you a unique vacation idea here in Turkey: Cappadocia Region. Located on the central Anatolia plateau within a volcanic landscape sculpted by erosion to form a successi...