Spotlight on New Hotels


Switzerland Not Accepting Russian Passports from Occupied Territories

Russian Passport

New Russian travel documents for people from the Russian-occupied territories of Ukraine and the breakaway regions of Georgia will no longer be accepted for issuing visas and crossing Schengen external borders.

The EU decided this on December 8, 2022. According to the government's official website, the Swiss government adopted the decision at its meeting on Wednesday.

It is a further development of the Schengen acquis, which Switzerland is obliged to adopt.

The background is the new naturalization practice introduced by Russia in the occupied regions of Ukraine and the breakaway territories of Georgia. The EU sees this as a violation of international law and the two countries' territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence.

The decision of the Federal Council was communicated to the EU Council on January 11, 2023, and entered into force immediately. There is no legal need for implementation, as the EU decision is directly applicable.

Source: AA

Latest Travel News


Volaris Announces New Loyalty Program

February 02, 2023 Aviation
Volaris (NYSE: VLRS and BMV: VOLAR), the ultra-low-cost carrier (ULCC) serving Mexico, the United States, Central and South America, announces that the Company signed an agreement to participate in a loyalty program by FEMSA.