LGBT Meeting Professionals Association

LGBT MPA Announces 2022 Executive Officers and Board of Directors

The LGBT Meeting Professionals Association (LGBT MPA), a professional MICE organization based in Philadelphia, announced its newly elected 2022 Board of Directors.

Led by Jim Clapes, Director of Meetings at M3 Meet, the organization’s Nominating Committee convened virtually in October to determine the slate of the 2022 board officers and directors for open positions. The final board was elected in November and began their positions Jan. 1.

LGBT MPA is the first and only organization solely committed to connecting, advancing and empowering the LGBT+ meeting professional community, providing the opportunity for LGBT voices to be uplifted and represented, and educating the industry on a broad range of topics pertaining to inclusion and diversity.

Statistically, there are an estimated 100,000 meetings professionals currently practicing in the U.S. LGBT MPA estimates that 8,000 to 12,000 of professionals working in this field are members of the LGBT community. Globally, the current estimate is 18,000 to 23,000.

“As the world and our industry continue to evolve, LGBT MPA’s north star remains to create a global event industry where all are equal, included and welcome,” said current Chair Derrick Johnson, II, CMP, DES.

“The 2022 BOD will continue helping our industry achieve this vision and leverage our over 2,000 members to impact and strengthen global communities.”

Johnson who is President/CEO at the Organization for Social Empact, will be joined by other Executive Officers: Vice-Chair Ann Garvey, CEO at blueskies marketing and Secretary/Treasurer, and Gary Murakami, Vice President of Sales and Industry Relations at Teneo Hospitality Group. In addition, Jim Clapes, Director of Meetings at M3 Meet will stay on as the Immediate Past Chair.

The following are LGBT MPA’s 2022 Board of Directors.

Charles Bello, CDS

Vice President/Team Director


Avery Chase Bender

Event Manager

University of Florida, Conference Department

Ted Bradpiece

Explorer Travel Services


Michelle Burton

Sr. Operations Manager, Events & Membership

Computer Science Teachers Association

Scott Clay, DES, CTA, PCA

Director of Catering Sales

AC Hotel by Marriott Columbus

Kyle Jordan

Director of Meetings

The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)

Chemain Kellogg

Sales Director

Visit Knoxville

Alan Kleinfeld


Arrive Management Group

David Kliman


The Kliman Group

Kerry Kurowski, CMP

Director of Meetings and Member Services

Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute

Lipian Mtandabari

Operations Head

Ntsako Travel Africa

Brent Ries

Global Marketing Events Manager


Gustavo Rivas-Solis

Vice President

Enroute Communications

Larry Sieg

President & CEO


Glenn Stress

Senior Director of B2B Marketing and Events

Marriott International

Trey Weaver

Meetings Manager

American Academy of Forensic Sciences

Thomas Whelan, Jr.

Director of Banquets at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center

Levy Restaurants

Newsletter subscription

Sign up to receive FTNnews Newsletter

Subscribe to get the latest travel news by email

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Scroll to Top