Women's Rugby

San Diego To Host Women’s Rugby Super Series In June – July 2019

Known for its beaches, parks and warm climate, Californian city of San Diego will host world’s top five women’s rugby teams this June and July for a round-robin Super Series that promises to showcase the best that women’s international 15s has to offer.

Kicking off for the first time in three years and increasing from four to five teams, the Super Series will feature world number one New Zealand, Six Nations Grand Slam winners England, Canada, France and USA.

The tournament was last hosted by USA in 2016 where Canada won the title and England claimed the runners-up for the second consecutive year.

Hosted in partnership with World Rugby, the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 serves as a meaningful step in generating more exposure for the women’s game and providing its top performers with much-needed playing time.

With teams all playing each other once, the event will be comprised of 10 test matches spread out over five days of competition between June 28 and July 14. Overall, two games will be played per day on 26 June, 2 July, 6 July, 10 July 10 and 14 July allowing both teams and fans multiple opportunities to experience high level competition.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said, “The Women’s Rugby Super Series is a fantastic competition that offers more quality playing opportunities and is set to be a thrilling tournament, where we look forward to the top five women’s international 15s teams compete for the Super Series title this summer.”

“We are very excited about the opportunity to host the return of the Women’s Super Series,” said USA Rugby’s General Manager of Women’s High Performance, Emilie Bydwell.

Match timings and ticket information for the Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 will be announced in due course. In the meantime, fans can sign up to be included in USA Rugby’s event pre-sale list at www.usarugby.org/tickets.

Canada take on New Zealand and England play the United States in the opening round with France receiving a bye. If the Super Series goes according to the rankings, the competition will conclude with a title showdown between New Zealand and England on 14 July.

Women’s Rugby Super Series schedule

28 June: Canada v New Zealand / England v USA

2 July: France v Canada / New Zealand v USA

6 July: France v New Zealand / Canada v England

10 July: England v France / Canada v USA

14 July: France v USA / New Zealand v England

Book your room in San Diego before the prices rise, act now and save more!

Newsletter subscription

Sign up to receive FTNnews Newsletter

Subscribe to get the latest travel news by email

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Scroll to Top