Travel to Korea

South Korea Launches K-ETA, Electronic Travel Authorization

South Korea has launched K-ETA, Korea Electronic Travel Authorization system for overseas visitors, traveling the country from September 1, 2021.

Since most visa waivers were suspended as the pandemic worsened in April 2020, visa-free foreign visitors will obtain electronic authorization before entering the Republic of Korea, by submitting relevant information online such as their travel information. The purpose of travel should be tourism, visiting family members, attending events or meetings, or commercial business (visits, where profit is derived, are excluded).

Visa-free foreign visitors need K-ETA approval in order to obtain the boarding pass and to enter the Republic of Korea. K-ETA is valid for multiple trips over a period of 2 years and the application fee is 10,000 KRW/person ($8.64). For K-ETA preparation materials are a valid passport, e-mail address, fee, photo ID.

With K-ETA, you would be exempted from submitting the arrival card and the immigration process would be quicker.

A pilot programme has been in place since May, and the full system will be implemented on Sept. 1.

K-ETA is mandatory for nationals or citizens of 66 visa-waiver countries and 46 designated visa-free entry countries who plan to travel to the Republic of Korea. However, due to the COVID-19, from September 1st (*1) nationals of 49 countries/regions, where visa-free entry is available and  (*2) Priority Entry (Business) Persons from the 63 visa-free entry suspended countries are available to apply for K-ETA.

*1 List of K-ETA Required Countries

– 21 Eligible Countries for K-ETA (from May 3rd, 2021)

Albania, Andorra, Barbados, Dominica, Guam, Guyana, Holy See, Ireland, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Palau, Saint Kitts-Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Slovenia, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela

– 28 Additional Eligible Countries for K-ETA (from Sep. 1st, 2021)

Greece, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Latvia, Romania, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Sweden, Spain, Slovakia, Estonia, Austria, Italy, Czech Republic, Croatia, Portugal, Poland, France, Finland, Hungary, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Iceland

*2 List of K-ETA Suspended Countries

– Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eswatini, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Macau, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nauru, New Zealand, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Republic of South Africa, Russia, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Suriname, Taiwan, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay

Priority entry applicants will use both previous visa issuance methods and K-ETA Application: K-ETA website ( (Korean, English) or access the mobile app (K-ETA) and apply 24 hours prior to boarding.

For group travelers, a representative can apply for up to 30 people Fee: ~10,000 won (per person)

Mandatory Quarantine

Mandatory Quarantine is 14 days for all incoming travelers to Korea.

For all Korean and foreign nationals entering Korea

  • Short-term foreign residents (Less than 90 days):  Government-designated quarantine accommodation. (KRW1,680,000 ~ KRW2,100,000)
  • Long-term foreign residents (More than 90 days): US TRAVEL KOREA can reservation quarantine accommodation.

Korea quarantine pcr

PCR Required

Due to the serious impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, all foreign passport holders traveling to the Republic of Korea must present a PCR Negative Test Result upon arrival. This policy is effective on 1/8/2021 at 0:00am KST.

It is required that the PCR Negative Test Result be issued 72 hours before the departure date.

The submission of the PCR Negative Test Result upon arrival is separate from that submitted for visa application. All travelers must attain and carry the document before leaving for Korea.

The PCR Negative Test Result will be claimed by the authorities during customs. Anyone who is unable to present the document or presents an unacceptable document* will be denied entry into Korea. *e.g. a document issued more than 72 hours before departure date, etc.

Newsletter subscription

Scroll to Top