Travel to Ukraine

Ukraine Borders Reopen, COVID-19 Entry Requirements

Popular Eastern European travel destination: Ukraine has reopened its borders once again on September 28, 2020.

Ukraine imposed a ban on foreign citizens to enter the country due to growth in the coronavirus cases between August 29 and September 28.

The Ukrainian government won’t close its borders again after the entry ban expired on September 28, Minister of Foreign Affairs Dmytro Kuleba reported to Kyiv Post.

Foreigners are only allowed to enter Ukraine with valid health insurance, details below.

Red Zone vs. Green Zone Countries

Ukraine divides countries into two zones; Red and Green. The list of countries in each zone is reviewed by the Ministry of Health every 7 days.

Busan city view from sea with skyscrapers, best destination for play, work, live

The “red zone” consists of countries where the number of COVID-19 cases in the last 14 days is higher than the number of cases in Ukraine.

Also, those countries where was increased more than 30% of new cases in the last 14 days compared to the last two weeks.

Citizens arriving from “Green Zone” countries will not be required to undergo self-isolation.

The countries in the Green Zone are:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, CAR, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, DRC, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, Gayana, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Timor-Leste, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

“Red Zone” countries are:

Andorra, Argentina, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, UAE, USA.

The countries list is updated on Oct. 1. For the latest data visit this page

Citizens arriving from “Red Zone” countries can choose one of three options:

1. Observation in specialized isolators;

2. 14 days self-isolation at the place of residence for persons who have agreed to undergo it using the “Diy Vdoma” mobile app;

3. Pass the COVID-19 test using the PCR method after crossing the state border.

In accordance with the Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine dated July 22, 2020 No. 641 (taking into account the changes dated September 28, 2020), self-isolation is not subject (if there is no reason to believe that the following persons were in contact with a person with COVID-19) :

1. persons under 12 years old,

2. persons arriving in Ukraine for the purpose of studying at higher education institutions,

3. persons who are citizens (subjects) of states with a widespread of COVID-19 and have not been on the territory of such states within the last 14 days or are sent through the territory of Ukraine in transit and have documents confirming travel abroad within two days,

4. employees of diplomatic missions and consular offices of foreign states, representations of official international missions, organizations accredited in Ukraine, and members of their families,

5. drivers and crew members of freight vehicles, buses carrying out regular transportation, crew members of air and sea, river vessels, members of train and locomotive crews,

6. instructors of the armed forces of NATO member states and member states of the NATO Partnership for Peace program who participate in training activities for the units of the Armed Forces,

7. cultural workers at the invitation of a cultural institution, together with one person, accompanies each of them,

8.persons transporting hematopoietic stem cells for transplantation,

9.persons who test negative for COVID-19 by the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) method, which is carried out no more than 48 hours before crossing the border.

Health Insurance is Required

Foreigners are only allowed to enter Ukraine with valid health insurance issued by a Ukrainian insurance company, or a foreign company with an office in Ukraine. The insurance has to cover the potential costs of COVID-19 treatment and observation in Ukraine.

From now on, foreigners are allowed to enter Ukraine. There are currently no separate requirements for foreigners to self-isolate or have travel medical insurance when coming to Ukraine.

The policy must include reimbursement of expenses related to the treatment of COVID-19 and be valid for the duration of the visit to Ukraine.

Citizens of Ukraine or persons with a permanent residence permit in Ukraine are not required to have an insurance policy.

You can get your health insurance for your Ukraine as low as 3 Euro for 3 days of stay + 0.72 EUR for each subsequent day. You can visit the official page and select one of the authorized insurance companies. If you need a longer insurance policy terms, contact Etalon Insurance at WhatsApp Group; offering a minimum 90 days policy for about US$11.

Can U.S. Citizens Travel to Ukraine without Quarantine?

Currently, all U.S. citizens must self-isolate for 14 days upon the arrival.

When they enter Ukraine, they must have a mobile phone that will work on arrival and download a smartphone application “Diy Vdoma,” through which the Ukrainian authorities will track whether they are complying with the quarantine. the Diy Vdoma app available in the App Store and Google Play

If you were in a Green Zone country within the last 14 days, you will not need to quarantine. Another option is to have a negative PCR test result in no more than 48 hours before crossing the border.

Where to Travel in Ukraine?

The most popular travel destinations in Ukraine are Kyiv, Lviv, Odesa, and Kharkiv. You can find more details about Kyiv (Kiev) in our destination article here , and for Lviv here

Newsletter subscription

Scroll to Top