Arsene Wenger and Alex Ferguson

English Premier League Honors Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger

The English Premier League announced that legendary coaches Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger were inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The duo, who established one of the most famed rivalries in Premier League history, became first managers to be honored with prestigious award.

Sir Alex Ferguson is not only the most successful manager in Premier League history, but also written down to history as the most successful football manager of all-time.

He bagged 38 titles with Manchester United, including two UEFA Champions League trophies, one FIFA Club World Cup, 13 Premier League titles and five English FA Cups in his 27-year run in the Premier League, which ended in 2012-13 season.

“I’m truly delighted to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame. It’s an honor when you receive recognition like this,” Ferguson said.

“However, it’s not just about me as a person. It’s about the job at Manchester United and the bond we had over many years, so I’m also proud for the club, the staff and my players.”

“I feel Arsene is a very worthy inductee as he transformed Arsenal Football Club fantastically. They became a tough team to compete with and we both wanted to win, which motivated us further,” Sir added.

French manager Arsene Wegner, who coached Arsenal from 1996 to 2018, clinched seven English FA Cups and three English Premier League titles with the Gunners, one of them is the only undefeated championship in the league history.

Wenger said: “I am very grateful to have been selected for the Premier League Hall of Fame. We always wanted to give something special to the fans and when you have players capable of remarkable things, the most important thing for me is the obligation of perfection.”

The Hall of Fame, which is the highest individual honor awarded by English Premier League, recognizes and celebrates individuals who have an exceptional record of success and have made a significant contribution to the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Source: AA

Newsletter subscription

Scroll to Top