New York

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut To Impose A New 14-day Quarantine

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut will require visitors to quarantine for two weeks. NY Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo on Wednesday announced that anyone coming to New York from a state currently hard hit by the virus would have to quarantine for two weeks.

The joint travel advisory would take effect at midnight. Travelers from eight U.S. states will now be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arriving in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. The order currently applied to Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah, where 10 percent of the population has tested positive for coronavirus over a seven-day period.

Other states could be added to the executive order if they the 10 percent threshold for infections, Cuomo added.

U.S. Travel Association Executive Vice President for Public Affairs and Policy Tori Emerson Barnes issued the following statement:

“States imposing new travel restrictions is not the direction we want to be heading for jobs and the economy. Medical experts have said that it should be possible for travel to gradually resume in phases as long as travelers and travel businesses embrace guidance on good health and safety practices. At this stage there is no debate that people should be wearing masks, and we need that to happen so the country can get moving again and people can get back to work.”

Newsletter subscription

Sign up to receive FTNnews Newsletter

Subscribe to get the latest travel news by email

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Scroll to Top