bosphorus swim race2018

Thousands swim between continents in Istanbul

Over 2,400 swimmers from 52 countries came together on Sunday in Istanbul for the Turkish Olympic Committee’s (TOC) 30th Samsung Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race.

Turkey’s Hilal Zeybeb Saraç finished first in the women’s event whilst Doğukan Ulaç, also from Turkey, was the fastest man to complete the course in what was an outstanding Bosphorus race.

The Samsung Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race, the only race between two continents, started in Kanlıca, on the Asian side of Istanbul, and ended in Kuruçeşme Cemil Topuzlu Park on the European side.

bosphorus swim race2018 1

Thousands of sports fans followed the thrilling competition, where amateur and competitive swimmers together took part in one of the sport’s most demanding and challenging events.

Busan city view from sea with skyscrapers, best destination for play, work, live

On completing the 6.5km course, the fastest swimmers were awarded plaques, medals, and exclusive Samsung products.

The winning athletes received their awards from Turkey’s Youth and Sports Minister Dr. Mehmet Muharrem Kasapoğlu, Istanbul Governor Vasip Sahin, Istanbul Mayor Mevlüt Uysal, IOC Vice President and TOC President Prof. Dr. Uğur Erdener and Samsung Electronics Turkey President Kim Daehyun.

Olympic champion, world record-holder and Senior Vice President of the International Athletics Associations Federation Sergey Bubka, and legendary Zimbabwean Olympic swimming champion and IOC Athletes’ Commission Chair Kirsty Coventry, were amongst honorary guests attending the 30th anniversary of the Bosphorus Cross-Continental Swimming Race.

bosphorus swim race2018 winners women

The winners:

General Classification

Name / Time

  • Doğukan Ulaç / KKTC / 00:46:58
  • Erge Can Gezmiş / TUR / 00:47:14
  • Alexander Kostich / USA / 00:47:41


Name / Time

  • Hilal Zeyneb SARAÇ (TR) 50 minutes 30 seconds
  • Buse TOPCU (TR) 50 minutes 40 seconds
  • Amy DANTZLER (USA) 50 minutes 50 seconds


Name / Time

  • Doğukan ULAÇ (TRNC) 46 minutes 58 seconds
  • Erge Can GEZMİŞ (TR) 47 minutes 14 seconds
  • Alexander KOSTICH (USA) 47 minutes 41 seconds

Newsletter subscription

Scroll to Top