UAE Expands Visa Waiver Policy to 87 Countries

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has significantly relaxed its visa regulations, allowing citizens from 87 countries visa-free entry, enhancing the country’s accessibility for international visitors.

This policy change aims to foster stronger global ties and invigorate the tourism sector.

Citizens of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) have always enjoyed the benefit of visa-free travel to the UAE, a privilege that remains unaffected. These individuals can easily enter the UAE by presenting a GCC passport or an ID card at any entry point, streamlining their travel experience.

On arrival, travelers from the eligible countries will receive a 30-day entry visa, which includes an additional 10-day grace period, simplifying short-term visits to the UAE. Furthermore, certain nationals are eligible for a 90-day visa-free stay, marking a significant extension aimed at encouraging longer visits.

Indian nationals, holding valid passports along with either a United States visit visa or green card, or a United Kingdom or European Union residency visa, are entitled to a visa-on-arrival facility. This policy comes in the wake of a 2022 report by and Statista, which identified the UAE as the most popular destination for Indian travelers, attracting nearly 5.89 million visitors.

This visa-on-arrival option grants Indian tourists an initial 14-day stay, with a possibility of extension for another 14 days, offering ample time to explore the UAE’s rich cultural heritage and modern attractions.

For those not covered by the visa waiver, an entry permit from a sponsor is required before arrival in the UAE. Depending on the visit’s purpose, the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs issues these permits, ensuring all visitors meet the necessary entry criteria.

The countries included in the list of extended visa-on-arrival facilities are as follows:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • The Bahamas
  • The Netherlands
  • UK
  • US
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican
  • Hellenic
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Armenia
  • Fiji
  • Kosovo

Newsletter subscription

Sign up to receive FTNnews Newsletter

Subscribe to get the latest travel news by email

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top